Back to All Events

University Symphony Orchestra

  • Ruby Diamond Concert Hall 120 North Copeland Street Tallahassee, FL, 32304 United States (map)

On Saturday, November 7, 2015 at 8pm, the University Symphony Orchestra presents a chamber orchestra concert in Opperman Music Hall on the campus of Florida State University.

This reduced size orchestra will perform one of orchestral repertoires most famed pieces of music and present the winner of the Doctoral Concerto Competition at the Florida State University College of Music. 

Admission is free!

The program includes: 

Pelléas et Mélisande Suite, Op. 46 by Jean Sibelius  
Concerto for Saxophone and String Orchestra, Op. 14 by Lars-Erik Larsson
Symphony No. 5 by Ludwig van Beethoven

The Belgian dramatist Maurice Maeterlinck wrote his influential play Pelléas et Mélisande in 1892. The play tells the story of a princess (Melisande) who falls in love with her prince’s brother (Pelleas), and how the prince’s mad jealousy leads inevitably to the demise of the title characters. In 1905, Sibelius was asked to compose new incidental music for the Helsinki premiere of a Swedish- language version of the play. After the great success of his incidental music, Sibelius later compiled a concert suite of nine short movements, which
the orchestra will present at the start of the performance. 

The second piece of the program will feature the winner of the Florida State University College of Music Doctoral Concerto Competition: saxophonist, Thomas Giles, who will be performing Larsson’s Concerto for Saxophone and String Orchestra. Lars-Erik Larsson was one of the most influential Swedish composers of the past century with a hand in virtually all facets of Sweden’s musical institutions during the mid-1900s. Assistant Conductor, Rachel Grubb will lead the orchestra through this concerto alongside Mr. Giles.

Of all the symphonies composed over the long development of the genre, none are more universally recognizable than “Beethoven’s Fifth,” if for the first four notes alone. This piece has been linked to the idea of struggle because at least three years before he began the work, Beethoven’s already deteriorating hearing started to get much worse. It would be years before the long, painful process left him completely deaf, but it is impossible to imagine what this constantly worsening problem caused for Beethoven the composer and for Beethoven the person. Dr. Alexander Jiménez, music director and conductor of the University Symphony Orchestra will lead the orchestra through this tragic but triumphant work. 

For venue and accessibility information, contact Opperman Music Hall at 850-644-3424 during business hours
Monday through Friday.